Killer Hill Time Trial Series

It is time for the Killer Hill TT Series.  Again this year, we will be giving our riders a choice of one lap, 13 miles, or two laps, 26 miles.  We will have a volunteer supported “feed zone” for those who ride two laps.  The dates will be July 24th, 31st, August 14th and August 28th.  We will be giving away a Bontrager Aeolus D3 Carbon Clincher wheelset, sponsored by the TBC, ETT and Simpson’s Adventure Sports, to one lucky participant.  You must ride in three of the four events to qualify for the drawing.  See you on the 17th!

Cyclist Awareness Ad Campaign

The Tyler Bicycle Club, through the Bicycle Advocacy Committee of East Texas, is embarking on a cyclist awareness ad campaign in Smith and Cherokee Counties. The ads will be print ads in the newspaper and on billboards on the major roads in the areas that we ride. We need volunteers to be in the print ads. We will need two males and two females, age groups of 17 to 23 (students) and 35+ (professionals or parents). We would like to have people that the community will recognize, in a good way, or people others can identify with (mother, son, nurse, store owner, etc.). If you know of someone or you would like to be in the ad, please email a TBC officer.

Click link below to see ad draft.


Owens Ride Time Change

The Owens Ride is changing to an evening ride for the summer.  The long route, 40+ miles, will start at 2:00 pm and the short route, 23 miles, will start at 5:30 pm.  We will be adding an additional route that will start at 5:30 pm.  The new route will follow the 23 mile route to Teaselville, but we will be adding an additional loop that will add about 5 miles to the ride, for a total of 29 to 30 miles.  Hope to see everyone on Sunday!

Memorial Day Ride

Monday, May 26th, is Memorial Day and we will be having our annual Memorial Day Ride. We will leave from Super 1 Foods on Hwy 271 north at 8 am. We will ride to Hawkins for breakfast and ride back. For those not wanting breakfast, you can ride around Lake Hawkins and then ride back with the group. The ride is a 40+ mile ride and the group will stay together. Also, we will have SAG support.

Survey for TXDoT concerning cycling in Texas.

We need all cyclists in East Texas to fill out this survey!

We learned at the meeting Wednesday night that TXDoT has a survey for cyclists in Texas to fill out, to inform TXDoT of the particular needs of cyclists in various regions of the state.  This will help guide TXDoT planning through the year 2040. Cyclists from the larger cities knew about this survey and have completed it. However, cyclists in East Texas knew nothing about the survey and as a result, our needs for this region have not been conveyed to TXDoT. Once TXDoT knows what are needs are, monies will be allocated for projects in our area. Please take a few minutes and fill out the survey so we can let our needs be known.
Thanks so much! -Kelly Boucher

TXDoT Transportation Plan

Tyler Bicycle Club Advocacy Committee Meeting

On Monday May 5th at 6:45 pm, the TBC Advocacy Committee will be meeting after the TBC Board meeting. This is a preliminary meeting to form the committee, so anyone who is interested in serving on the committee or has ideas about cycling advocacy in the Tyler area is encouraged to show up. Information about the meeting is posted in the calendar.

Meeting Scheduled with a member of TXDoT’s Bicycle Advisory Board

Billy Hibbs, a current member of TXDoT’s Bicycle Advisory Committee and fellow cyclist, is hosting a meeting at Heartland Secruity Insurance Group auditorium, one block north of the Chili’s on Loop 323 and across the street from Elite Bicycles. The adress is 501 Shelley Drive Tyler, Texas 75701. The meeting is schedule for Wednesday, April 23 from 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm in the evening. (The most convenient parking is by the flagpoles.) Mr. Hibbs will be presenting a slide show on the agenda from the first BAC meeting, which should be very interesting and enlightening to the membership of all concerned cyclists in East Texas. Please make plans to attend!

From Mr. Hibbs:
“The East Texas area has never had a voice on TxDOT’s Bicycle Advisory Committee, and as a result, our region has been left out of virtually all projects, money, and future planning. Thanks to the efforts of Commissioner Austin to expand this influential committee within TxDOT, I have four meetings per year over the next three year term to try and get something done for this area. It would most helpful if I could present a slide show in our downstairs auditorium at the location below next Wednesday, from 5:30 to 6:30PM, to get organized with some objectives.”